Review: L’Oreal Mousse Absolue

I have a confession. This is not my real hair colour… yes, I dye my hair lol. Actually it’s as close as I can get to my real hair colour which is a really rich dark brown. To the naked eye it’s black.

In my much younger days when I was finally free to dye my hair, I had a really bad experience and stopped dying it after that.
I asked for nice caramel highlights all over my head but ended up with blonde locks all over instead. The “stylist” had left the dye in far too long and it caused irreparable damaged resulting in my hair just breaking off. I slowly did some colour correction back to a darker colour and have since stopped dying my hair. No I will not show you any pictures!

Fast forward about 12 years, a crazy amount of stress, a baby and a new house, I found my first grey hair. Well really I found it a couple years ago after my son was born lol. What started out as one quickly multiplied. They’re all currently located at the sides of me head but are hidden beneath the top layers of hair. The only time anyone see’s them is when I have my hair in a ponytail… until now; they’ve started coming up around my face. I dyed my hair a couple times last year to hide them but have since gotten a little lazy (and busy!). I didn’t want to pay $100 at the salon so I thought I’d try the drugstore variety.

L'Oreal Mousse Absolue

L’Oreal Mousse Absolue

I forgot to take a before pic of all the nasty greys… my bad!

I was watching tv one day and the commercial for this new L’Oreal reuseable hair dye came on. The one thing I didn’t like about dying my hair at home was getting the dye all over the place. My mom and sister dye their hair at home and back when I was still living at home, there was dye ALL OVER the bathroom.
I went out to buy a box of the Mousse Absolue and decided to give it a go. At the time, their website was also offering a $3 off coupon so I printed one off, waited till it went on sale and ended up paying $10 + tax for it.
I have medium length hair and the box says for medium length you will have one application plus one touch up. Depending on how much you use you can probably make it last for 3 applications. I went with the darkest brown they had and it matched my hair perfectly. If I was only doing the greys and roots, I could have probably easily gotten 4 uses out of it.

This is actually the first time I’ve done a home-dye but I’m pretty happy with the product and results. Application is very easy and is pretty much mess free.

Leave a Reply

