Santa Pics 2014

Yes I know I’m about 3 months late lol. Things got pretty busy for us before the xmas holidays last year and now I have a lot of catching up to do!

I’m trying to make it a yearly tradition (like every other parent out there) to take Riley out and take Santa pics. The year he was born was great. We had my immediate family and we took pics all together. This year we couldn’t make the schedule work so it was just the 3 of us.

Here we are waiting in the line up:

Trying to keep the kid occupied

Trying to keep the kid occupied

We made sure that Riley was well rested and had his lunch before heading to the mall. I think we were in line for about 30-45mins.

My fav pic of the two

My fav pic of the two

And cue the tears!

This is not the smile of a happy child

This is not the smile of a happy child

I knew there would be crying and tears, I just didn’t expect the immediate reaction! I thought I would try putting Riley on Santa’s lap and see if he would notice. Usually there’s a good 10-15 seconds before the kids realize they’re sitting on a stranger’s lap but Riley’s response was immediate. The second I took my hands off him the screeching started… and wouldn’t stop even when I held him and put him on my lap lol. Not even a candy cane stopped the tears. His face was as red as a tomato. The only time I had seen him that upset was… well, never.

The Santa was a good sport though. Didn’t seem fazed at all with the screaming and tears. His smile was in place the whole time and was very pleasant throughout. But I guess having a gig like that, one would have to have an ocean’s amount of patience and an intense love of young kids.

Maybe this year? Lol

Leave a Reply

