Kris Kringle Cookies

Kris Kringle Cookies - Image from Kraft

Image from Kraft

“I’m not a baker!” That was repeated to hubby over and over again last night as I was baking these cookies. The last time I baked anything (other than dinner) was about 2 years ago. I also only cook periodically when the mood strikes.

I found this recipe on the Kraft website a few years ago when I was looking for a holiday cookie recipe that would be fairly easy to make. They are sooooo good. The recipe is pretty foolproof… unless you’re me *sigh*.

Mixer

I got this Kitchenaid mixer from hubby for our wedding anniversary a couple years ago. I think he was more excited about it than I was… especially since this was also the first time I used it since I got it and Ryan had already used it a few times lol. Generally speaking gifting your wife/gf/significant other an appliance as a gift for any occasion is considered a nono but I’m not your regular type of gal. I had to beg… BEG Ryan to buy me a Dyson vacuum. I finally got it 4 years later lol.

Doughy Goodness

Doughy Goodness

So the last time I made these cookies (which was also the first time I ever made cookies) they turned out to be giant cookies because I thought one tablespoon scoop was too small lol. This time I knew better.
We have a gas range and I’m still trying to get accustomed to using it. Previously we had an electric stove so it takes longer to cook and bake things.

Disaster 1 & 2

Disaster 1 & 2

This is when I started reciting “I am not a baker”. I was so excited to take out the cookies when the timer went off… and then I saw that. Two batch of cookies destroyed. I figured it was possibly because I had sprayed the trays too much with cooking spray or I had left it baking too long so I wiped it all off and put another smaller batch in and set the timer for 8mins. This time I was going to watch through the oven door to make sure it was okay. It wasn’t.
I took the tray out after 4mins and was pretty upset that it just wasn’t working out at all. Ryan came over to comfort me and asked if I had followed the recipe correctly and I said yes. Then something in his head must have clicked because he asked me if I had put in enough flour. The recipe called for 2-1/4 cups of flour. I looked at the recipe and then looked at Ryan and said “Well of course I put in the right amount of flour. Only an idiot would put in two 1/4 cups of flour!” Burn. I had misinterpreted how much flour the recipe actually needed. There was still half of the batter left in the bowl so I mixed in another 3/4 cups of flour and put a small batch in the oven to test. They came out perfect.

Yummy Goodness!

Yummy Goodness!

I had forgotten how sweet these cookies actually are and I think the first time I made them, I had cut the white sugar down to only half a cup so when you make these you may want to adjust the amount of sugar to suit your needs. Next time I would also cut the butter down as well because they’re quite oily.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

