Mascara

I may possibly have the worst and most stubborn eyelashes in the world! Nothing I use seems to work on them. I had a friend (who shall remain nameless) that was so cheap, she would give out the free makeup samples she gets as birthday and Christmas gifts. Fortunately I benefited from one such gift from her one year; there was a Clinique High Impact Mascara sample.

I actually really liked the Clinique High Impact Mascara. It’s purpose is to create more volume for your lashes. I’m of Asian heritage and our lashes tend to be lacking in the volume and curl department. If you’re fortunate enough, you may get long lashes lol. After I used up the sample tube, I thought I’d go and pick myself up a regular sized one since I liked it… Well as a girl who was working a retail job at minimum wage at the time, $16 plus tax was more than I was willing to pay. I ended up at Shoppers Drug Mart and picked up the Cover Girl Lashblast Volume Blasting Mascara (the orange one). That one worked out really well for me and I used it for quiet a few years. It didn’t clump and separated and lengthened my lashes really well. The one downside is that it didn’t curl… And I wanted it all! Back to the drawing board.

Around the same time I wanted to know if there really was a difference between drugstore brands and department store brands of cosmetics so I set out to do a little experiment starting with mascara.

Diorshow and Diorshow New Look

Diorshow and Diorshow New Look

I decided to try the Diorshow mascara after reading some very positive reviews. $31 plus tax CAD for mascara… “this better be damned good mascara!” I said to myself. And it didn’t disappoint. I was actually expecting a more dramatic look as Diorshow was touted as an awarding winning backstage favorite used on models, but i personally thought that it wasn’t dramatic at all. It could possibly be that I only applied 2 coats max. There is little to no clumping and gave me length! After using Diorshow for the last few years, I decided to change it up again and picked up the Diorshow New Look at $35 plus tax CAD. I haven’t tried it yet so stay tuned for that review!

3 thoughts on “Mascara

    • I on the other have didn’t have any luck with mascara that uses the skinny plastic wands lol! I hope you have better luck than me! I think my next trial will be the Givenchy Phenomeneyes.

      • Haha, ‘to each his own’, and thank you! πŸ˜€ Oooh, that sounds lovely! If you end up buying it, show us. I’d love to see. πŸ˜€ Have you tried Benefit’s They’re Real? πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

