Foundations

I love makeup. I’m not exceptionally great at applying it (that’s still a work in progress) but I love wearing it and buying it. I also seem to have a habit of using makeup that is constantly getting discontinued, therefore causing my OCD tendencies to flare up.

Like every adolescent teenager, I first started out using Cover Girl foundation… But since my parents were not supportive of their young daughters using makeup, I was relegated to using the little sample packs from magazines. Sad, I know. And then I realized one morning that the foundation did no match my natural skin tone nor was I applying it evenly on my face… Very embarrassing for a teenage girl in high school! Armed with my first weekly allowance money, I made my way to the local Shoppers Drug Mart. I decided on the Cover Girl pressed powder. Again, no research was done as to what suited my skin best. I continued to use that for a couple years until I reached my senior year of high school. It was then that my mom took my sister and I to the MAC counter at the mall.

I used MAC pressed powder foundation for a couple years after that. They have a really great product exchange program where you bring back 6 cleaned and empty product containers and exchange it for a free item… I didn’t use makeup enough at the time to utilize the program though.

I noticed that my skin was on the more oily side and I had a problem (big problem) with acne throughout high school. So much so that my mom regularly to my dr to see why it was happening. Anyways, my mom took me back to the mall and suggested I switch to the skin care line that she’s used for years; Shiseido. I started using the pressed powder foundation from their Pureness line until one day when I went back to buy a refill and they told me that it has been discontinued. Now, this was years ago and I think they’ve actually brought the line back now. So I made my way across from Shiseido over to Clinique. I started using their Almost Powder Makeup Broad Spectrum pressed powder. I used this particular foundation for quite a long time until my sister-in-law was getting married and I needed something with more coverage as the Clinique one was sheer coverage.

Chanel Teint Innocence compact foundation is now my foundation of choice. You’re asking why I haven’t tried liquid? Well, I can’t quite seem to get liquid foundation to blend well. Plus I also don’t want to look TOO made up; I like a bit more if a natural made up look. Price point: not cheap! Obviously this Chanel foundation cost more than the other brands I’ve used previously. I pay $65 CAD (tax included) and there are no refill options.

Chanel Teint Innocence

Chanel Teint Innocence

I found that the Teint Innocence gave me incredible coverage and lasted me all day at the wedding (which was in July… In Vancouver summer humidity). For regular normal day-to-day wear I use a bit less for sheer coverage, for events like weddings and parties I use a bit more for extra coverage and longevity. A friend of mine also gifted me with her Diorskin Airflash spray on foundation. She didn’t like it after using it a couple of times and gave it to me to try.

image

First off, the Diorskin is incredible! It gives a flawless finish because it essentially gives an airbrushed look. All you do is give one small spritz clockwise (or counterclockwise.. Whichever you want) and use a foundation brush to blend and presto! You’re done! The price point is also incredible… Incredibly high!!! I got this for free but this bad boy will set you back $65 plus tax CAD. The down side is obviously the high price and it’s definitely not meant for everyday use as the can uses up pretty quick.

One thought on “Foundations

  1. What a helpful article! I just started a blog and it would mean so much if you could check out my site! Followed btw xx

Leave a Reply

